My novel, LOVE, GUDRUN ENSSLIN, appears in new academic study!


I was very interested to discover – on a recent visit to Amazon (the online retail site…not the sadly under-threat rainforest!) – that my novel, LOVE, GUDRUN ENSSLIN now appears as a reference point in a fascinating and brand new academic study focusing on the cultural influence of the Baader Meinhof Gang on the novel.

The book, published by Palgrave Macmillan, is the work of Professor Julian Preece of Swansea University – an expert in Baader Meinhof, Kafka and contemporary German literature. Entitled “Baader Meinhof And The Novel” (and subtitled “Narratives of the Nation / Fantasies of the Revolution 1970-2010”), the weighty tome retails at £52.25 (including Amazon’s customary discount!).

The purpose of Dr Preece’s study is to examine the “rich literary corpus” that has arisen surrounding the fact that “The Baader Meinhof Group has provided material to many novels by leading German and international writers” and to both catalogue and analyse the effect of this body of literature (plus art plus film) on the modern German psyche. The Professor’s book is also the first to examine the canon of ‘Baader Meinhof literature’ in true scholarly detail, treating it as a “political unconscious which expresses submerged anxieties and moral blind-spots in Europe’s most powerful country”.

My novel appears five times in Professor Preece’s book. There are references to my novel on Pages 122, 138 and 143 in the main body of text – and I am listed both in the Bibliography (under the ‘International Writers’ section) and in the Index.

Having seen the sample pages available using Amazon’s ‘Look Inside’ facility, I can confirm that the book is expertly written – and of great interest to me (and others!). However, pages 122, 138 and 143 are inaccessible – so I shall be contacting the Professor to see if he will kindly provide me with a review copy.

Annoyingly, whilst I am listed correctly (as Simon Corbin) in the Bibliography, I am wrongly listed in the Index as RICHARD Corbin?!!! Not sure how that came about. Perhaps I should consider writing under the pseudonym of ‘Richard’ at some point in the future. On the other hand, I’ve never really considered myself to be much of a Dick!

This entry was posted in writer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

