Blog Hop: Black Dog


BD

Greetings amigos!

I’ve been invited by a fellow writer to take part in a ‘Blog Hop’. All I have to do is answer some questions about my next book and then link to some other talented authors I know who will (hopefully!) carry on the ‘Hop’ by answering the same questions about their own book(s).

OK, here goes…..

What is the title of your next book?

Black Dog

Where did you get the idea for the book?

Some time ago I rented a flat in King’s Lynn, Norfolk for a year when I was completing teacher training. While I was there, I believe I saw an infamous local ghost dog – Black Shuck – running across the A149 main road. As a writer, I determined to one day use that sighting (and Shuck) as the basis for a future novel – and that is the book I am writing now…BLACK DOG!

What genre does your book fall under?

Crime / Horror. It is both a traditional ‘whodunnit’ police procedural and a ghost story rolled into one. One part of the narrative follows a murder investigation and invites the reader to try to discover the identity of the killer. The other side of the narrative concerns the visions the senior detective keeps having of a ghostly black dog – and his dilemma in trying to determine whether these visions are real or not without telling anyone about them (for fear of being removed from the case).

What actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I will gladly leave that decision to any production company (or producer) that kindly buys the rights to a film or TV adaptation! (Interested parties please post here!)

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A ghostly black dog is repeatedly haunting Detective Chief Inspector Frank Homes as he investigates an appalling murder – but is the dog real?

Is your book self-published or represented by an agency?

Neither. The book is only halfway completed. However, I am open to both representation and/or a traditional publishing contract. (Publishers/agents – feel free to message me here!)

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

This is a work-in-progress.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

As a writer, I was determined to one day use my sighting of Black Shuck as the basis for a novel. As I further researched the legend of Black Shuck, an idea for the storyline seemed to form all of its own accord. The concept behind this particular novel has had a very enthusiastic response both on this blog and to all those with whom I have discussed it in person. In fact, others who have also seen Shuck (or similar) have posted their experiences here on my blog and, in some cases, I have adapted and incorporated the events described into chapters (or scenes) in my novel. In some ways, you could say the book now has a life of its own. It’s certainly great fun to write.

What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

In part, this book is my reimagining of Hound Of The Baskervilles for the 21st century. That is why I have called my protagonist Frank Homes – sans the ‘l’ – in tribute to the great Sherlock. In addition, the legend of Shuck that I have featured in my book is the same legend that inspired Conan Doyle – although I have kept it in its original Norfolk location and brought it up to the present day. Hound Of The Baskervilles was recently voted the most popular ‘classic’ work of fiction in the UK – so there is definitely a readership-in-waiting for my book. I do quite like ‘reimagining’ classics for the 21st century – my first novel, RUDE BOY, was my attempt to reimagine Catcher In The Rye.  As a reader my favourite genre is Horror – especially Gothic Horror – and I have been a massive fan of Hammer since I was a kid. I’ve not yet written an out-and-out Hammer-style horror – but this book is, I suspect, a clear step on the road in that direction.

Now please follow these links to some other very gifted writers I know:

Well, this is the bit I may find slightly difficult. I don’t actually know five fellow writers with active blogs – nor have I yet asked those I do know if they will participate!  So I am adding the links to three people I do know who I can say wholeheartedly are not only good writers but also jolly fine people. Do please click the links and discover their blogs and their writing. (One of them has already done the ‘blog hop’ but the others – at the time of posting – don’t even know about it yet! Hopefully tbis is a pleasant surprise, folks!). If I can add two more links (to make the five) before I post my next blog, I shall do so.

Poppet’s blog:

http://authorpoppet.wordpress.com/blog/

Paul Freeman’s website:

http://sayitsoftly.weebly.com/books.html

Jackie Buxton’s blog:

http://jackiebuxton.blogspot.co.uk/

BD

This entry was posted in writer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Hop: Black Dog

  1. The other side of the narrative concerns the visions the senior detective keeps having of a ghostly black dog – and his dilemma in trying to determine whether these visions are real or not without telling anyone about them

Leave a Reply

