It’s Cocktail Time!


Unfortunately I found I’d run out of both beer and wine today. Shock! Horror! So, I wondered, what – apart from something healthy like water 😀 – was I going to drink with dinner? Well, looking in the fridge and the drinks cabinet, I discovered I still had the ingredients needed to make a certain cocktail – a Moscow Mule. So, that’s what I had – and very nice it was too.

What’s in a Moscow Mule? Vodka, Ginger Beer, lime juice, ice – and that’s it! Of course, it all depends on getting the measurements right. A true Moscow Mule also needs to be served in a copper cup (or some similar type of metal drinking vessel). Mine actually had to make do with an earthenware beer mug – but it didn’t seem to suffer.

It’s been aaaaages since I had a cocktail. I don’t think I’ll be having a Mai Tai, Margarita, White Russian or Pina Colada with every evening meal from now (I’ll probably be stocking up on the beer/vino again tomorrow) but it did make a pleasant once-in-a-while change.

Fancy making your own Moscow Mule? Here’s how:

  • One part vodka
  • One part lime juice
  • Three parts Ginger Beer

Pour over ice in a copper cup…and…er…that’s it! 😀

BTW Wikipedia tells me the Moscow Mule was invented in 1941 – and lists a fair few enticing variations you can try.

Enjoy amigos! Chin chin!

This entry was posted in writer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment